Our people

IIA NZ is a member organisation with over 570 individual members with 33 organisational members across the country.

National Board

We elect a National Board with up to seven members, with the ability to co-opt three additional members. Directors are elected for a two year term, with one half of the positions on the Board being up for election each year. The Chair is appointed annually by the Board.

The 2017 IIA NZ Board is

  • Joanne Ogg
  • Deb Peach
  • Sylvester Shamy
  • James Jong
  • James Rees-Thomas
  • Melissa Bailey
  • Shaun Dowers

National Office

We have two staff in our National Office in Wellington.


Member volunteers provide essential leadership and direction for IIA NZ and are critical to providing our services and programmes.

Our volunteers assist IIA NZ with their advice, guidance and support, both individually and through their roles on the National Board, Committees, Special Interest Groups and Regional Committees.

Relationship Managers

IIANZ has appointed relationship managers to assist the Institute to achieve its advocacy strategy. The stakeholder clusters are our priority groups. Further stakeholder groups will be added over time.


Lead Relationship Manager

Relationship Support

Chartered Accountants of Australia & New Zealand

Shashi Kumar

Steve Downes

Institute of Directors

Jeff Galt

Steve Downes

Central Agencies (Treasury, DPMC, SSC)

James Rees- Thomas

Office of the Auditor-General

James Jong

David Sinkins and Jeff Galt

Our partner organisations

IIA NZ works with ISACA (Information Systems Audit and Control Association), RiskNZ and the IoD (Institute of Directors) to share some of our events and information on best practice.

We are most fortunate that many organisations support us through the generous donation of venues for our events.